12 May

five for the ferriss

Each of the state’s so-called Big 4 NCAA Division I schools is represented among the five finalists for the Ferriss Trophy, given annually to the state’s best player by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. The 2023 finalists are Kemp Alderman of Ole Miss, Tanner Hall from Southern Miss, Ty Hill of Jackson State, Hunter Hines from Mississippi State and Slade Wilks of USM. Hall, the only pitcher in the group, won the trophy in 2022. Previous winners include current big leaguers Chris Stratton, Hunter Renfroe, Nick Sandlin and Brent Rooker. The 2023 Ferriss Trophy, named in honor of former major leaguer and legendary Delta State coach Boo Ferriss, is sponsored by the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians and the Pearl River Resort. The ceremony is set for May 22 at the resort in Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: